WHAT IS GLUTEN?

The word gluten is taken from the Latin word "glue" - and this is a good way to think of its properties. It is a naturally occurring rubbery, sticky and elastic protein that is found in grains such as wheat, rye, spelt, triticale, oats and barley. Gluten is responsible for the superior cooking and baking properties of these grains, allowing them to rise and hold their shape once cooked.

WHY GO GLUTEN FREE?

Gluten must be avoided by individuals who have coeliac disease. Coeliac disease is a disorder of the small bowel caused by an immune reaction to gluten. For coeliac's and gluten intolerance sufferers, exposure to gluten causes the lining of the small intestine to become inflamed and the finger like projections (villi) to become flattened. This reduces the surface area of the small intestine, limiting its ability to absorb nutrients and can lead to malnutrition and deficiency diseases such as Osteoporosis.

Sufferers experience abdominal symptoms ranging from severe diarrhoea to constipation, cramping, bloating, and nausea and vomiting. Due to the wide range of symptoms, approximately 75% of people currently affected by coeliac disease remain undiagnosed. Coeliac disease can never be cured but it can be controlled and symptoms completely eliminated by adhering to a gluten-free diet.

WHICH GRAINS CONTAIN GLUTEN?

Wheat, Rye, Barley, Triticale, Spelt, Oats, Kamut.

ARE OATS GLUTEN FREE?

Oats do not naturally contain gluten, but are sometimes grown directly adjacent to, and/or milled on the same equipment as other grains that do contain gluten, and so are commonly contaminated. 

From the Australian Coeliac Society......"In Australia, the majority of oats sold are contaminated with either wheat and/or barley which makes them unsuitable. Studies have found that some people with coeliac disease still react to oats. While some people with coeliac disease may be able to tolerate oats, it is on an individual basis".

I AM ALLERGIC TO GLUTEN. WHAT CAN I EAT? 

We supply the following food products which are naturally gluten-free:

  • Rice: All of our rice products are naturally gluten free
  • Grains: Amaranth, buckwheat, quinoa, millet
  • Beans: All of our beans and pulses are naturally gluten free
  • Cereals: Puffed amaranth, puffed buckwheat, puffed brown rice, puffed millet, rolled quinoa
  • Snacks: Organic rice cakes
  • Seeds/Nuts/Dried Fruit: All of our seeds, nuts and dried fruits are naturally gluten free
  • Flours: Buckwheat flour, brown rice flour, millet flour, quinoa flour


WHY DO YOUR GLUTEN-FREE PRODUCTS STILL SAY 'MAY CONTAIN TRACES OF GLUTEN'?

We can guarantee that any of our products which are labelled as "gluten-free", are naturally gluten-free
On all of our packaging there is a warning that all of our products may contain traces of gluten. As our gluten free products are stored and packaged in the same warehouse as products containing gluten, there is always going to be that very slight chance that contamination may occur. Although the chance of this is unlikely and caution is taken at all times, we would rather ensure that our customers are fully aware of this so they can then make the decision as to whether or not the product is safe for them or not.