For individuals who have coeliac disease or gluten sensitivity, adopting a gluten-free diet is crucial to improving overall health. At Honest to Goodness, we understand the challenges faced by those with gluten sensitivity, and we are dedicated to making life easier and more delicious for them.
Honest to Goodness Gluten-Free Room
Here at Honest to Goodness, we take any claim about gluten-free very seriously. That's why our Honest to Goodness Manufacturing facility located in Villawood has now a gluten-free room: a designated area where gluten-free products are produced, processed, and packaged.
The significance of having a separate gluten-free room cannot be overstated. It ensures that there is no unintentional mixing of gluten-containing ingredients or residues with gluten-free ones. This level of separation is essential to meet regulatory requirements and provide you with consistently safe gluten-free products that you can trust.
Any ingredient or product that enters this room has been controlled throughout the entire supply chain and batch tested to confirm no detectable gluten (<5ppm) is present.
How to shop our Gluten-Free Range
To help you easily identify and shop for our gluten-free range, we have implemented a "Gluten-free" filter on our website. Simply click on "Shop All" and then expand the "Dietary" section to find it.
Our diverse selection of gluten-free products caters to various dietary needs and preferences. From alternative flours to gluten-free starch, seaweed snacks, baking essentials, and smooth coconut cream, our range offers a variety of options to create wholesome and delicious gluten-free dishes.
Alternative flours: we offer a variety of alternative flours that serve as excellent substitutes for wheat flour, catering to those seeking gluten-free options without compromising on taste or quality. Some popular alternatives include Buckwheat flour, Cassava flour, Coconut flour, Green Banana flour, Quinoa flour and Teff flour.
Gluten-free starch: the addition of potato starch, corn starch, and tapioca starch to your gluten-free diet enhances the diversity and functionality of your dishes. Each starch offers unique properties that contribute to creating delicious and gluten-safe recipes. Whether thickening savoury soups and sauces or perfecting gluten-free baked goods, these gluten-free starches are essential pantry items for home cooks, professional chefs, and individuals with specific dietary needs.
Gluten-free pasta: our Eco Organics range specialises in gluten-free, low-carb, vegan pasta that offers a superior nutritional profile than regular wheat pasta. The Eco Organics range provides health-conscious customers with a tasty alternative, ensuring a delicious and satisfying experience for everyone at the table.
Our Gluten-Free range also includes other baking essentials, like Baking Powder- Aluminum Free, Bi-Carb Soda, and Cream of Tartar, as well as delicious gluten-free snacks like our seaweeds.
Honest to Goodness Gluten-Free Logo
But that’s not all! To make our gluten-free products immediately recognisable in-store, we are adding the Gluten-free logo below on the products processed in our gluten-free room.
You may have seen this logo popping up on a few labels, but there is much more to come!
Meanwhile, below is a quick guide on how to understand allergen labelling to AVOID gluten.
How to read the different elements of allergen labelling
Step 1: Ingredients Check
Any ingredient derived from a gluten-containing ingredient (wheat, rye, barley or oats) will be declared, and in bold, making it easier to spot.
Gluten-Free = no mention of wheat, rye, barley or oats in the ingredient list.
Step 2: Allergen Check
Look out for the terms ‘gluten’ and ‘wheat’ (again, will be in bold)
"Contains: Gluten" - indicates that gluten is present and therefore not suitable for a gluten-free diet.
"Contains: Wheat" - indicates that the product contains a wheat-derived ingredient, but that the wheat-derived ingredient does NOT contain gluten.
Gluten-Free = no mention of gluten.
Step 3: “May be Present” Check
If wheat or gluten “May be present” or “May Contain”, there is a risk of cross-contamination with gluten-containing products.
Gluten-Free = no mention of gluten.
Naturally Gluten-Free Products
When following a gluten-free diet, it's essential to identify naturally gluten-free foods that provide essential nutrients. Fortunately, nature offers an abundance of wholesome and delicious that can be enjoyed in several ways.
However, it is important to note that although naturally gluten-free, some products may share a facility or equipment that also processes gluten-containing items during the manufacturing and packaging stage. When shopping, use our allergen checklist/ guide to ensure you can stick to a Gluten Free diet.
Naturally Gluten Free Foods;
- Whole Grains and pseudocereals; although many grains contain gluten there is still an abundance that are gluten-free including quinoa, rice, millet, and buckwheat. All offer essential nutrients and can be easily incorporated into meals.
- Legumes: Beans, lentils, and peas provide plant-based protein and nutrients.
- Fruits and Vegetables: Fresh and dried fruits & veggies are rich in vitamins and fibre.
- Nuts and Seeds: Perfect gluten-free options for snacks, salad toppings, and baking.
- Oils and Fats: Most are gluten-free, just watch for additives containing gluten.